🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Programmers: Would you drop everything to start a game dev venture?

Started by
16 comments, last by BS-er 22 years ago
I'm a programmer/engineer with solid C++ experience and some Direct3D experience, and a basic 3D game in progress. I often entertain the thought (or delusion) of leaving my secure, decent paying job, striking up a partnership with some serious programmer types, and self-funding a game development venture for about a year or maybe two. My partners and I would find a mutually agreeable location, rent some cheap office space or maybe a house for a year (a game development fraternity if you will), and we would eat, breathe and sleep game development. I believe that the programming and core design just can't progress satisfactorily in a virtual environment. You need to be immersed in it physically, on-site with other programmers, and have no other job ouside of the task at hand. The artistry and modelling for the game would be contracted with some buddies of mine at other locations, and we would hook up with them using NetMeeting from time to time. I think its acceptable to have the modelling and artistry done remotely because you don't have to worry about software interfaces and software structure so much with models and artwork. Of course such a venture would require major sacrifice. You would need to $$fund$$ your basic existence for the duration, until you turn a profit. personally I have saved enough to support myself and pay my share of the expenses (rent and what else?) for probably two years. I would think that the others would need to do the same. Anyway, It's fun to think about such things, but scarier to actually go through with them. It's just a daydream of mine for now. I'm curious if other programmer types entertain similar delusions . W