🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game Business Virgin

Started by
22 comments, last by Rochnarand 21 years, 10 months ago
Okay, I am a complete newbie. My friend and I are going to release a game in a month or so. Our first ever. We want to do everything correctly. We have a cool company name But I won''t mention it here yet. What I''d like to have is some advice from people who have released and sold their games. What I have found out is that your work is copyrighted as soon as it is in finished form. But then how do game developers protect their games while in developement while still showing unfinished versions of them at places like E3? We''ve not yet made a website promoting the game because of that very worry. I want to have a site that promotes the game we''re about to release and the one we''re going to work on next. What do we need to do to make sure we''re protected? In addition, does anyone recomend registering our game with the library of congress? http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ61.pdf Also, we planned on giving out a demo for free and then having people mail us a check if they want an actual copy. We might try to get some computer and video game stores to sell it. I have no idea if that would pan out or not. If there is a high demand then we''ll look into other online payment options, if there isn''t we may eventually just give them away or charge just the cost of sending it to people. As far as I know we don''t need any special licenses for this but I went to the California State Government website and found something about a sellers license? http://www.ss.ca.gov/business/checklist.htm If it is true that I need a permit to sell games I find it a gross violation of my rights as an artist and a potential businessman. The site also described Several business structures. A general p