🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Leaving everything behind to be a Game Developer?

Started by
7 comments, last by Chosker 21 years, 10 months ago
Hi, I''m 17 years old, I like gamedev''ing, mostly modelling and designing. I live in Cancun, Mexico. I''m not even sure what I want to do for a living. I''m interested in game development and 3D arts, but that means I have to leave everything behind, go to some college in other country (probably the USA) and stay there to live. However as I said I''m not sure. I could stay here and study architecture. It''s hard to leave everyone and everything behind, to go and live another life, specially if you''re not even sure. Yes I like game developing and 3D arts quite much, but its a really big step so I''m not sure. I need some advice for this, what would you recommend me to do? thnx

Chosker - Developer of Elium - Prison Escape

Advertisement
Follow your dreams man. It''s a pretty amazing adventure to leave everything you know and try something new. There are very few opportunites in your life to do things like this. By the time your in your twenties you may have a steady girlfriend, maby even a wife, a house your making payments on. You will have so many responsibilites it will be impossible for you to drop everything and chase your dreams.
Stepping out into the unknown is an amazing expirence, full of risk and adventure. But with great risks can come great rewards.
thnx for that Ironside

well thing is that its hard for me to just leave everything as that. I've been living in the same town my whole life, only changed school once; which means I'm not someone used to that kind of changes.