🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game designer only?

Started by
5 comments, last by Spiff 24 years, 2 months ago
I've been programming on and off for about 2 years now, 1 year of game programming and 6 months of DirectX programming. I'm quite uncertain if I'll ever be a decent (i.e. professional) game programmer because I'm very bad with maths and my intrest for game programming isn't as big as it should be. However, I love to design games, come up with new ideas and find new approaches of problems. If I were to work as a game designer (pure theoretical design, no programming or artwork), do I have to start in the industry as a programmer or artist or can I just get a job as a designer directly? Of course with the proper knowledge and/or education needed. Please, no "I think so..." answers, just answers from people that knows this for a fact. ============================ Daniel Netz, Sentinel Design "I'm not stupid, I'm from Sweden" - Unknown Edited by - Spiff on 4/4/00 9:08:00 AM
============================Daniel Netz, Sentinel Design"I'm not stupid, I'm from Sweden" - Unknown
Advertisement
As far as I know you can start as a game designer.
In fact you''ll probably begin to be a level designer.
On my side I would like to be Game Designer and Story writter, but it seems that those are two different job.
(Maybe it''s why so many games have no/bad story ?)

my 2 cents

-* Sounds, music and story makes the difference between good and great games *-
-* So many things to do, so little time to spend. *-
Hi,
getting a job directly as a game-designer without having ever programmed some projects is hard. The reason is, that the game-designer is possibly the most important person in the development team, so that''s completely understandable.