🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What kind of system?

Started by
9 comments, last by Geopirate 23 years, 10 months ago
I am just getting started with programming. I have some money saved for a system. Should i get a PC or a Mac and what compiler should i use?
You want a piece of me, boy?
Advertisement
PC.

Visual C++ (you can get the standard edition).

Also buy a couple of good books, none of the books are perfect but you will learn something from all of them.

Don''t forget to read the excellent articles on this site.

Glen Martin
Dynamic Adventures Inc.
http://www.zenfar.com
Glen Martin
Dynamic Adventures Inc.
Zenfar
Mac, because apple will be coming out with Os X which will have the easiest API to develop for, cocoa. It comes directly from NeXT and uses either Java or Objective C. Note this is not 100% pure java but the Os is the only Os with out of the box Java 2 support. Also Apple will be releasing free development tools fo everyone...
Windows is going down and we all know it.
There''s a reason that guy posted as Anonymous!

Zeus Interactive
What are you talking about -- I am just supporting the Macintosh platform -- if you want to contact me email me
davecom@mac.com
Dave

P.S. Everyone should respect all OS''s so that choice remains in the industry. It is very childish to put down an Operating System if you really want what''s best for the industry.

Yeah... Now this is just my opinion, but Macs suck compared to PCs because there''s not as many good tools for it, and overall all less good programs (again this is my opinion, but an educated one). The only real system a programmer would want is a PC (or Workstation or something like that) with Windows or Linux... and even BeOS before MacOS...

Don''t get a Mac, you''ll be much happier with a pc.

-----------------------------