🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

"reinveting the wheel"

Started by
2 comments, last by Jihn 23 years, 7 months ago
Ah yeah...whatever! Anyhow I was just hoping for a bit of input from you folks...hoping. I'm a programmer for a new game company debuting around 4th quarter 2001. Anyhow the company I'm working for is currently developing anew library of games, and for these games we are developing a new engine....sorta like the unreal, or quake engine.....but an all original system and features...no reused source but from scratch! Let's skip the babble....we have two lead programmers (what?)....and the company is giving us the right to choose to sell the potential engine (SDK) or keep it only for our games. Ofcourse we will make around 2-3 games before we would even think of releasing the for sale - license. My question is....is this a wise investment (selling the engine)? Or should we be bad and keep the glory? I don't have the whole say-so but I am 50% of it! All input is appreciated. Edited by - Jihn on 11/1/00 3:11:27 AM
Working Late + Coke and chips = Game Development-
Advertisement
Licensing your engine can provide a nice alternate revenue stream, should your titles take off and get good sales and publicity. The main problem is that you''ll end up having to allocate some resources for technical support for your licensees, if you''re a very small company this could be a manpower drain.

I would assume that, at the same time you''re licensing your ''old'' technology you''re working on the next generation of your engine. You want to stay a step ahead in-house to maintain the competitive advantage your custom engine should be giving you.

All this, of course, IMNSHO.