🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Crystal Interactive Distribution Channels.

Started by
4 comments, last by jeffjohnson 22 years, 12 months ago
Has anyone ever seen a crystal interactive game in a store that wasn''t published through e-games? I have to question if they have any real distribution at all. On their website at http://www.crystal-interactive.com/corporate/index.html they list 35 store chains, but I have never seen a game from them in any of thse stores, or on the websites for these stores (for those that have them). I''m beginning to think that crystal interactive has no distribution channel of their own, and I don''t think anyone has actually ever been paid by them.. of course they can''t comment on that because of the non-disclosure agreement.
Advertisement
I am quite new to the world of shareware/small time games development but I have read up everything I possibly could about Crystal-Interactive and even though it does sound quite a good deal, in my experience that''s usually not a good sign heh.

To be honest I don''t have a clue either way but my instinct tells me that no matter what - I shouldn''t try it...

I know they are a small time publisher, but a visit to my local PC/Video game stores resulted in absolutely no sign of the Crystal Interactive logo anyway, I live in the UK by the way, a supposed channel for them...

Anyway, its just my humble opinion and like I say I have no idea what is the truth... Just remember that companies main goal is survivability - Crystal Interactive won''t care much for the game developer yet if they are a business they have to get money and not promoting products as well as possible is a sure fire way of dropping profits no?

Philip Lutas

Philip LutasMy site of randomness