🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

IPX newbie ...

Started by
5 comments, last by noiser 22 years, 10 months ago
Hi ... Im new to using network programming ... And I wants to learns some basic network programming to a simple dos game ... All I wants to learn is to have 2 pixels ... One that I controls and one that my friend at the other computer controls ... Any help with books, sites, and online help from here would be appreciated ...
Advertisement
If you are truely making a DOS game, you should be able to get the source to DOOM from ftp.idsoftware.com
- The trade-off between price and quality does not exist in Japan. Rather, the idea that high quality brings on cost reduction is widely accepted.-- Tajima & Matsubara
LOL.. i dont think he wants the source for Doom.. hes asking to make a simple 1st networked game ! give him a break

I would love to help my self .. but (Dos wise) im a pascal programmer and im guessing (as everyone is) your a C programmer..

I duno about C for DOS but writting a network game in pascal would be much more hastle than writting one in a windows enviroment (that would be Delphi for me ) the reasons for that are otherwise u will probably find it hard to
a) use ipx unless you find somones ipx unit for dos ;-)
b) draw the graphics .. if u dont have somone elses usits you will need to write ya own which involves assembler and int calls.. i could dig up some simple code for that if u need it

but with windows programming languages u can try to find a directX component (or do ya own) or just use a tcp socket component .. and drawing graphics onto a windows form is basically as simple as blah...pixels[x,y] = colour

just my quick advice

Tim

ps if u are a pascal programmer... that different i can help excep with the ipx stuff in dos :-p
~ Tim