🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Newbie question: Sockets: Sending and Receiving

Started by
3 comments, last by d_s_lin 22 years, 10 months ago
Hi all, I have a little question. I have a set of simple client and server applications. Client only sends, and server only receives. However, it seems like the server is dropping exactly half the packets, or the client is only sending exactly half the packets. In any case, I have the client send the same packet twice for the server to receive, and I don''t understand why this has to be. Can somebody please take a look and tell me what I can do? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! By the way, source code at: http://members.home.net/dennislin2 Dennis
Advertisement
Hi,

I have looked at your code (i must be insane .. im not a C programmer at heart ) and i have come to the conclusion after only looking at the server code, that its because your reading from the circular array for holding incomming data is basically naff :-p

Quote :
in SocketObject::vGetPacket
iBytesWaiting = (stReceive.iWritePos - stReceive.iReadPos);
thats not really correct ... what if iWritePos was 50000 and u read 20000 bytes.. iReadPos = 50000, iWritePos = 6000 so
iBytesWaiting = (6000 - 50000);
is not correct.. something like (ill try to write in C although i have never even used a C compiler lol.. i have picked a bit up by reading it though)
if(stReceive.iWritePos < stReceive.iReadPos)
{
iBytesWaiting = (64000 - stReceive.iReadPos)+ stReceive.iWritePos;
}else
{
iBytesWaiting = (stReceive.iWritePos - stReceive.iReadPos);
}

Also this is very wrong ..
iBytesReceived = (stHeader.iLength+sizeof(stHeader));

// Check if reading too far
if( stReceive.iReadPos >= 64000 ) {
stReceive.iReadPos = 0;
}

it should be
iBytesReceived = (stHeader.iLength+sizeof(stHeader));