🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

wondering if an idea will work.

Started by
1 comment, last by akudoi 22 years, 9 months ago
well lits not the newest idea. but im making a online rpg {mmorpg) im really doing it for experience. but it might become public. since im a student i dont have the money or the bandwidth to having anything near what id need to host. i just want to know if this would work. and how good of an idea it is... i was thinking of having multiple servers, but all connnected togeather. And when users connect they can pick from a list of servers. basically how irc works.. ie dalnet. if one server were to go down it would dump its users onto the other servers.. and when a new one came on it would even it out. the main server.. would be for keeping track of the servers, user varification, account info.. and variables, ie user health money etc[when they are offline].. the other servers are for getting the packets from the clients and they update info with the other servers. well thats the basics. later
Advertisement
Worth a shot, distributed networking is the latest rage...

I was thinking about doing the same thing with the game I''m working on.

Magmai Kai Holmlor
- Not For Rent
- The trade-off between price and quality does not exist in Japan. Rather, the idea that high quality brings on cost reduction is widely accepted.-- Tajima & Matsubara
Hi,

Im making a mmorgp and im also a student ;-)

I thought about something a bit like that my self.. i wanted to split the servers tasks between more than one pc.. eg one computer handles login & chat room, one deals with all NPCs (ai decisions... that can use a lot of cpu time) and one for all game requests from players like move/attack etc. etc...

the problems i came into was this.. lets say ..