🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Best dev platform for Web based multiplayer board game?

Started by
9 comments, last by JazzcatCB 22 years, 9 months ago
I''m developing a Web based multiplayer board game (a''la Risk/Axis&Allies) Everything is 2D, so I don''t need sophisticated graphics (although later I hope to add some animations) The game consists of a board with multiple territories, playing pieces, and one or more decks of cards. I''d like to support layered and tiled windows, polygon graphical hotspot images (for the territories), a chat window, a zoom window, among others. I am a C++ programmer, however, I''d like something with an integrated GUI library, and fast prototyping (I don''t really need power as much as speed now) Also, the cost of this is coming out of my personal, unemployed budget, so it can''t be more than $300. Would Macromedia Dreamweaver meet my requirements? Any other suggestions?
Advertisement
You could use something like 3dgamestudio to do the job. It is 3d based, but that shouldnt be a problem really.

The $199 version supports up to 4 players.

http://www.conitec.net/a4info.htm

LostLogic
www.lostlogic.com
Author, Multiplayer Game Programming

Edited by - lostlogic on October 4, 2001 11:50:20 AM

Edited by - lostlogic on October 4, 2001 11:50:45 AM

LostLogicwww.GamerOutfit.comXBox 360 Community Games Reviews and NewsExisled - 2D/3D Shooter for XBox 360

Hi LostLogic, thanks for your reply.

A question: I need to be able to support multiple games in progress simultaneously from the Web server. Is this possible with 3dgamestudio?