🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Kraut Tree Editor

Started by
3 comments, last by Jan K 11 years, 9 months ago
Kraut Tree Editor is a hobby project that I have been working on in my spare time for about 8 months. It is a program to generate tree geometry that is optimized for use in real-time rendering applications.

Trees are mostly generated procedurally, the user provides the parameters how it should grow and look like. Different variations of the same tree can be easily generated by changing a random seed value.

The program automatically generates level-of-detail meshes. For example the tree in the main image consists of 50.000 triangles in the unoptimized base form (which is not supposed to be used at runtime). However, LOD0 (which looks nearly identical) only takes 4000 triangles (with the default LOD settings). With each subsequent LOD the settings can be tweaked to reduce the polygon-count more and more.

I started working on this project because I was always impressed with what SpeedTree does, but I could never find a free program that would do something similar. There are a few free programs out there that allow you to generate trees procedurally, but most only allow you to generate highly detailed tree geometry (often generating millions of polygons, by modelling every single leaf). None of the ones I found seemed to actually try to solve the problem to render trees as fast as possible, by providing proper level-of-detail meshes, and by making it easy to collapse branches and leaves into textures. I'm pretty sure that there ARE such programs and I simply haven't found them, but in the end I just needed a new hobby project and this one was challenging enough to be fun.