🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

The Nature of Game Budgets

Started by
4 comments, last by Gian-Reto 7 years, 8 months ago

As an aspiring game designer myself, I've always found this one particular asset of game development to be kinda odd. Why do games require so much money to make, anyway?

For instance, my two favorite games of all time, Lisa The Painful and Undertale, were made on a budget of at least $7,000 dollars and $5,000 dollars respectively, with the Kickstarter goals exceeding both by at least twice the amount wanted. Now, this is nothing compared to just how massive Triple A games can have their budgets, with Watch_Dogs having about 68 million dollars in terms of its budget. 68 million dollars. That's a lot of money, almost half of some movie budgets nowadays!

So the main reason I made this post is to ask: why? Why are games so expensive? Why do people need up to 5K to make an indie RPG?

The Snek that runs the Plek.

- Ametuer Music Composer

- Fledgling Writer

- Ambitious Game Designer

In short, I suck.

Advertisement

First up, are you still living at home, or do you pay the full expenses for a household? And: do you live in the US?

In a modern, western country, it's not unusual for someone's core expenses to be something like $2000-$3000 per month. i.e. that much money will keep the bills paid and their stomach full. Living comfortably in a city is expensive.

People will generally want to earn a lot more than the bare minimum that so they can afford to buy luxuries from time to time, or take their family on vacation... So $4k or $5k per month is is more like what they'd want to be bringing home. If you posses a skill that requires a decade of training to be good at, then it's possible to ask for this much income and have a comfortable life.