🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

the big decision: complete or move on? can you help?

Started by
11 comments, last by camcbri 22 years, 5 months ago
Hello. I''m facing a pretty large decision and I''m not sure if I''m informed enough to make it. I''m enlisting your aid to complete it! I am currently attending Illinois State University, with two semesters remaining after the current semester before graduation. My major is applied computer science. So far, I''m completely disgusted with the quality of education. I don''t feel like I''ve learned much from school and don''t see much more coming my way in 5 of the last 9 classes. The classes I have left are communications 223: small group processes, biology 197 - molecular and cellular, english 249: technical writing, MQM 220: statistics, General studies elective (a philosophy or history class), acs 388: distributed processing, acs 383: principles of OS''s, acs 279: algorithms and data structures, acs elective (could get AI or user interface design, but UID is done in VB). The computer science classes could be good. The others.... Anyway, I''m thinking about leaving ISU and going to Fullsail for a degree in game design. Do you people think that the game design degree would be more influential for getting me into the job market or should I stick out the half-arsed attempt at education ISU is giving? A quick tidbit. I want to stress that my classes barely prepare me for anything! I''m doing my 3rd IT job currently (applications development), and am apalled at how useless 90% of my univ. education really is. I am a true believer in experience over education. I''m doing an independent studies project for the univ. honors program and it involves the development of a rudimentary 3D game engine. Also, I don''t think that graduating, then going is a very goo