🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

My ranting.

Started by
13 comments, last by DraconicArchmage 22 years, 2 months ago
I was a potential game developer until I sat down and thought one day. Is it really wise to get into a career that I hear is highly competative, low-paying (unless you make a good market product), and overall extremely risky? And, to top it off, I''m behind in my math. I hear people being in Calculus three, making and finishing Doom clones at like age 13, and I''m in Trig for my second semester of college, and have never honestly finished a hardcore project. To be honest, I''m scared sh**less. Here I was, programming since I was eight, hoping to develope a game some day. I started a project at age 13, it failed. I revived it just about every year until this one, all of which have failed. I have a strong developed story, several chunks of VB code, and 3 CDs full of outstanding music. That''s not enough to make a game out of... It was a simple 2D game, and we couldn''t even remake pong when we tried. So, I kinda lost my faith. Though, I really have no idea what other career I can choose. It feels as if my life is basically over. Am I right? I mean, I''m good at math, but behind on the courses, understand code pretty well, though I didn''t realize how much better C++ was until two years ago, and the four times I''ve tried my project, they gradually fallen apart. Is GameDev a highly competative market that requires the programmers that have been somehow... gifted and able to make game since they were 12 by themselves?! According to some threads and such on these very bored, by now I should be knowing all the tricks behind openGL and vectors/matrixes and only God knows what else. Is this accurite? Can you honestly say I still have a chance at actually making to successful project?