🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Not particularly game development

Started by
11 comments, last by Muzlack 22 years, 2 months ago
Well, I first have to give a bit of background on myself. I have 8 years of programming experience. I am in the 9th grade. Game development is always what I have longed for, and have strived to make my own games. Lately, I''ve been succesful! But, I''m wondering WHAT to do with the rest of my life. I would like to know, what is the best programming position I should aim for (not necessarily game programming) and what companies I should aim for. What colleges should I go to? I don''t mean to brag, but from what I have seen in programming classes, I really wouldn''t learn much. I''m sure that in the advanced classes I would, but would I have to go through the basic classes and re learn what I have spent 8 years learning? I would appreciate some feedback, and money isn''t the most important thing about my job, but how much money would I make when I grow up? Would this 8 years of experience mean anything on my resume? thanks in advance, Muzlack Oofmay Sponge Factory --Muzlack
--Muzlack
Advertisement
I''d like to add, IS there a spot in the market for my company? I heard sierra is trying to bring back adventure games, so if I make my adventure game quickly enough, do I stand a chance? take a look at my website for a screenshot, and tell me what you think! (entitled : "Screenshot of Lucan")

Sponge Factory
--Muzlack
--Muzlack
Neat stuff I wish I had over 1GHz PCs to play with when I was in 9th grade.

Glen Martin
Dynamic Adventures Inc.
Zenfar
Glen Martin
Dynamic Adventures Inc.
Zenfar
1 gig! Haha! 333mhz here. I entered a web contest, I hope I won first place, cause thats a new computer.
--Muzlack