Gameplay Programming skill requirements

Started by
4 comments, last by Nclatino 4 years, 2 months ago

Hello I am a student perusing a Game Programming and Development degree and I wanted to get advice on skill development. Looking at a a few job descriptions in the field I can see some examples of the specific skills and experience that are listed. One example lists the Skills and Experience needed as

· Extensive knowledge of C/C++ programming languages.

· Visual Studio experience.

· Familiarity with Unreal 4, including ample familiarity with the Blueprint system.

· Excellent 3d math skills.

· Familiarity with Maya is a plus.

Being a student I have small amounts of experience in each of these points, however I would like to develop them further, past schooling, before I jump into the field. What would be the best way to improve these skills individually?

Advertisement

I think, programming is best developped by working on an actual project, like a tool or something that may come handy in the future, like your little set of functions and algorithms, that you can transfer between different platforms later on.

For the art part, I've practised so much in blender, and can use it like as if it's a part of me, but I still can not draw anything useful… Guess there are other factors, or the way programming and art learned are different.

By the way, I'm just an enthusiast, not a professional, though I would love to have one or two of my game ideas in solid.

And for the details, you don't need experience to be able to use visual studio, and if you know object oriented programming in general, then it shouldn't take much time to adapt to C++. Unreal 4 is made pretty easy now. There are lots of tutorials, and the blueprint is like child's play, seriously. Blueprints are so intuitive, perhaps even my grandma could play with them… Okay may be not, cuz they wouldn't know what a vector is, so 3D math comes in here.

Good luck!

Nclatino said: