Game programmer salary in California?

Started by
2 comments, last by hplus0603 2 years, 7 months ago

Hi there,

I have about 1.7 years experience in the game industry. 2.7 if you count the year I spent as an indie developer, 3.7 if you also count the year I spent as a simulator developer.

As a programmer (game dev or otherwise), I have about 6 years experience in total, most of it in C++.

So I would say that I'm an intermediate programmer.

I don't live in California, but I'm going to be interviewing for a game audio programmer position there (remote work). It's a big wealthy company, not a little startup.

I know Glassdoor has average salaries, but it doesn't really tell you the whole story. Maybe there's really senior programmers filling out these surveys, and it's pumping up the average, I don't know.

Anyway, in your opinion, what should my salary expectation be here?

Advertisement

totesmagotes said:
I know Glassdoor has average salaries

That, and other salary sites, are probably your best bet. Google your question again, look beyond that one site, and average the results you get.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

@totesmagotes With six years of experience, you'll likely fall into the “senior developer" category. (Generally, there are five main categories: intern, junior, senior, staff, principal, although the exact mapping to experience varies by company – Microsoft calls many people Principal; other companies save that for only their most experienced two or three people in the organization. Also, sometimes it's “technical director” instead of “principal,” and sometimes TD is a level above principal, and really large companies have fellows, too.)